Friendship with Scones


Early last week a group of us from our women’s Bible study got together for a little brunch (Thank you Katie for hosting!) . It had been a while since we had seen one another because our study is currently on a break. We all had a great time chatting and of course eating, everyone brought something delicious! I brought Lemon Blueberry Scones, a recipe I found over at Baking Bites. I had a few people asking for the recipe, so here it is!

Lemon Blueberry Scones
2 cups flour
1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
6 tbsp butter, chilled
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1 tbsp lemon zest
1 cup frozen blueberries (fresh will make a mess)

Preheat oven to 400. Line a cookie sheet with parchment (I am not sure if this is necessary, I used my pizza stone so I didn’t need the parchment)
In a large bowl mix together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Cut butter into 6-8 chunks and add to flour mixture. The original recipe calls for incorporating the butter by hand until the flour mixture becomes grainy, so that there are no butter pieces larger than a pea. I just used my food processor because I am way to impatient for that. 
Add in milk, lemon juice and zest. Work together until a dough forms. If the dough is too sticky add more flour. 
Knead the dough on a floured surface or inside the bowl for about a minute. Flatten dough and add blueberries, gently kneading for 30-60 seconds. Divide in half and shape into flat rounds, about 3/4 inch thick. Cut each round into quarters and place on baking sheet. Since I was making these for a pot-luck brunch, I cut each round into 8 pieces each to make mini-scones.
Bake 17-22 minutes until golden brown.

Lemon Glaze (optional)
1 tbsp lemon juice
1/2 cup confectioners sugar

Whisk together until smooth and drizzle over scones. I brought the glaze in a separate container and let people drizzle to their desire, as some people like their scones less sweet. You can also add a bit of glaze to some softened butter to make a sweet lemon spread. 

Enjoy! And don’t forget to stop over to Baking Bites for more yummy recipes!

I would love to hear from you!

